Working Hours and Vacations

2015 -2016 school year

2016-2017 school year in preschool and basic education

2016-2017 school year in Vantaa high schools

General information about working days and vacations

2015 -2016 school year

2015 fall term (91 workdays)

Wed, Aug. 12 – Fri, Dec.18, 2015
fall vacation: Thurs, Oct.15 – Fri, Oct. 16, 2015
Christmas vacation: Mon, Dec. 21, 2015 – Wed, Jan. 6, 2016

2016 spring term (98 workdays)

Thurs, Jan. 7 – Sat, June 4, 2016
winter vacation: Mon, Feb. 22 – Fri, Feb. 26, 2016 (week 8)
Easter vacation: March 24-28, 2016

no work on the Friday after Ascension Day, May 6

Last school day for candidates for the matriculation examination: Thurs, Feb. 18, 2016.

2016-2017 school year in preschool and basic education

2016 fall term (90 workdays)

fall term: Tue, Aug. 16 – Thurs, Dec. 22, 2016
fall vacation: Thurs, Oct. 20 – Fri, Oct. 21, 2016 (week 42)
Christmas vacation: Fri, Dec. 23, 2016 – Sun, Jan. 8, 2017

2017 spring term (97 workdays)

spring term: Mon, Jan. 9 – Sat. June 3, 2017 (no work on Saturdays in preschool education)
winter vacation: Mon, Feb. 20 – Fri, Feb. 24, 2017 (week 8)

2016-2017 school year in Vantaa high schools

2016 fall term (90 workdays)

Thurs, Aug. 11 – Thurs, Dec. 22, 2016
fall vacation: Mon, Oct. 17 – Fri, Oct. 21, 2016 (week 42)
Christmas vacation: Fri, Dec. 23, 2016 – Sun, Jan. 8, 2017

2017 spring term (97 workdays)

Mon, Jan. 9 – Sat, March 3, 2017
winter vacation: Mon, Feb. 20 – Fri, Feb. 24, 2017 (week 8)

Last school day for candidates for the matriculation examination: Thurs, Feb. 16, 2017.

General information about working days and vacations

There are 190 workdays in a school year. If Independence Day, Epiphany or May Day fall on a weekday other than Saturday, they are deducted from the school year's workdays. The Education Committee decides every October-November on the day school work begins, as well as on the times for school-year vacations and individual days off.

The school year is divided into fall term and spring term

The fall term begins in August and ends in December, before Christmas Eve, Dec. 24. Days off from school during the fall term consist of a few days’ fall vacation and the Finnish Independence Day on December 6. The spring term begins in January, on the first workday after Epiphany, and ends in the spring, on the Saturday in week 22. The spring term has a one-week winter vacation in week 8, as well as Easter vacation in March-April. Additional days off are May Day, May 1, and Ascension Day. Schools will inform of any exceptions to their working hours and vacations in their own bulletins.