Working Hours and Vacations

2019-2020 school year in preschool, basic education and high schools

2019 fall term (91 workdays)

Fall term: Thursday, Aug. 8 – Friday, Dec. 20, 2019

  • Fall vacation: Monday, Oct. 14 – Friday, Oct. 18, 2019 (week 42)
  • Christmas vacation: Saturday, Dec. 21, 2019 – Monday, Jan. 6, 2020

2020 spring term (95 workdays / preschool, 96 workdays / basic education)

Spring term: Tuesday, Jan. 7 – Friday, May 29, 2020 (preschool) / Saturday, May 30, 2020 (basic education)
Winter vacation: Monday, Feb. 17 – Friday, Feb. 21, 2020 (week 8)

General information about working days and vacations

There are 190 workdays in a school year. If Independence Day, Epiphany or May Day fall on a weekday other than Saturday, they are deducted from the school year's workdays. The Education Committee decides every October-November on the day school work begins, as well as on the times for school-year vacations and individual days off.

The school year is divided into fall term and spring term

The fall term begins in August and ends in December, before Christmas Eve, Dec. 24. Days off from school during the fall term consist of a few days’ fall vacation and the Finnish Independence Day on December 6. The spring term begins in January, on the first workday after Epiphany, and ends in the spring, on the Saturday in week 22. The spring term has a one-week winter vacation in week 8, as well as Easter vacation in March-April. Additional days off are May Day, May 1, and Ascension Day. Schools will inform of any exceptions to their working hours and vacations in their own bulletins.