Pre-primary Education Working Hours and Holidays

Pre-primary education follow the same working hours and vacations as schools. There is no work on Saturdays in pre-primary education. Children who participate in pre-primary education related to early childhood education are entitled to early childhood education during pre-primary vacations.

Workdays and Vacations in pre-primary education

2020 fall term (89 workdays)

Fall term: Thursday, Aug. 13 – Tuesday, Dec. 22, 2020

• Fall vacation: Monday, Oct. 12 – Friday, Oct. 16, 2020 (week 42)
• Christmas vacation: Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2020 – Wednesday, Jan. 6, 2021

2021 spring term (99 workdays)

Spring term: Thursday, Jan. 7 – Friday, June 4, 2021
(no work on Saturdays in pre-primary education)

• Winter vacation: Monday, Feb. 22 – Friday, Feb. 26, 2021 (week 8)

General information about workdays and vacations

There are 190 workdays in a school year. If Independence Day, Epiphany or May Day fall on a weekday other than Saturday, they are deducted from the school year's workdays. The Education Committee decides every October-November on the day school work begins, as well as on the times for school-year vacations and individual days off.

The School Year Is Divided into Fall Term and Spring Term

The fall term begins in mid-August and ends in December, before Christmas Eve, Dec. 24. Days off from school during the fall term consist of a few days' fall vacation and the Finnish Independence Day on December 6. The spring term begins in January, on the first workday after Epiphany, and ends in the spring, on the Saturday in week 22. The spring term has a one-week winter vacation in week 8, as well as Easter vacation in March-April. Additional days off are May Day on May 1, and Ascension Day. Schools will inform of any exceptions to their working hours and vacations in their own bulletins.